North American Handmade Bike Show

North American Handmade Bike Show

I already posted about the best part about NAHBS weekend, but there was an actual bike show. The best part about the show wasn’t the bikes or the eye-candy, but seeing all my buds. Good thing I’m still terrible about taking picture of friends, so here’s some pictures and thoughts about them pictures.

North American Handmade Bike Show
There were so many bikepacking bikes at the show. I almost bought me a Breadwinner B-Road way back when (then I remembered I can’t afford a custom bike yet)
North American Handmade Bike Show
I liked seeing the new components and accessories on display. This was a cool new Portland Design Works rigid dry bag system.
North American Handmade Bike Show
I’ve always dreamed of this setup, especially the more I get into racing (and as Stevil at All Hail the Black Market always says, bike racing sure involves a lot of driving). Maybe someday soon.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Ritchey is releasing some cool new bikes this year, I don’t think this is any production bike, but it looks like a modern update on the old school camo Commander.
North American Handmade Bike Show
I’m always late to whatever’s hip, but I’m looking into getting a rack for the touring/commuter bike. Pass and Stow had their own booth along with a bunch of their racks in other booths.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Peacock Groove had by far the best booth. No fad bikes here; well, unless you consider fat bikes a fad, which I don’t, or cargo bikes a fad (what are you high?)
North American Handmade Bike Show
Devil’s in the details on this fat mini-velo. 20″ fat wheels! Sweet!
North American Handmade Bike Show
Well decorated booth with some robutts. Thanks robutts.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Well, this win’s for second best motorcycle at the show (next to the Breadwinner Yamaha). Electric cargo bikes make sense to me.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Custom rack flair.
North American Handmade Bike Show
More component bling.
North American Handmade Bike Show
I’ve heard nothing but good things about these bottom brackets. I wanted to throw one in my Carver, then I exploded it right before Tour Divide and had to put in an “Emergency Phil Wood” which probably doesn’t need to be upgraded.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Cal Poly fabricated nearly this entire bike. I don’t remember what they DIDN’T fabricate, but there wasn’t a whole lot (it was easier to say what wasn’t than what was).
North American Handmade Bike Show
Disc bling.

North American Handmade Bike Show

North American Handmade Bike Show
For a straight forward road bike, this was probably my favorite. Biwakoguma Bicycles from Japan built this lovely classic looking road build with an absolutely stunning paint finish.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Triple triangle beauty.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Galaxy. Appropriately named.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Even the matching hat was stunning.

 

North American Handmade Bike Show
“So, I’ll be taking this, since it has my name on it.”
*Stares back with bewildered look*
“How many morons have made that joke today?”
“Actually you’re the first”
I truly am king moron at times.
North American Handmade Bike Show
WTF Bike #1
North American Handmade Bike Show
Dominic picking up WTF Bike #2; sub 10lb stainless steel “I’m Going to Break On You” race machine, from English Cycles. We laughed, but in retrospect, this bike is dumb in the least fun way.
North American Handmade Bike Show
Squid! There were quite a few Squid bikes at the show. I love their wild paint jobs. Living in the Bay Area it’s always fun to see a few Squid’s out on the CX course every fall.
North American Handmade Bike Show
More component excitement! This is probably what I’m most excited for, a modern outboard bearing White Industries Eno crank!

That’s all she wrote. I probably didn’t even see the whole floor. There are people who posted more timely better looking photographs, but hey, I already have a job. Check out more on my Flickr.

North American Handmade Bike Show

Leave a Reply

